A Pirate’s Pirate

I hurried up the stairs to meet my destiny.

The boat pulled away from the shore. I squeezed my eyes shut and slowed my breathing to stay as quiet as possible.

I heard footsteps and commotion on deck.

I made myself as small as I could in the damp corner behind some nets and crates. No one could know I was stowed away. It was a miracle I made it this far. I paid every penny I had scavenged for assistance, and now it was up to me.

I was afraid of what lie ahead but more so of what I was leaving behind. My family was killed when pirates raided our village. All I could do for them in this moment was to survive.

I sensed it was dusk and knew the time was near.

I had only heard legends, and I hoped they were true; a pirate who pirated pirates, and gave back to the destitute victims of their invasions. To avenge my family, I would fight back and help others in need.

They would strike at sunset, so I mentally prepared myself and waited, ready. I was told he would be expecting me.

I heard shouting and canon fire as they arrived. The panicked crew did their best to fend him off, but it was to no avail. I heard the men board.

I hurried up the stairs to meet my destiny.

I saw him standing tall and proud, instructing his men to seize the cargo and bring the crew into compliance.

“You boy!” He said when he saw me. “Step forward.”

I moved toward him, anxious, in awe.

“Yes sir, Captain, sir,” I said and quickly knelt before him. “I pledge my life in allegiance to you sir, Captain Robin Hook of the Jolly Rancher. I pledge to serve and obey your commands and do good publicly and in secret as you so decree.” I finished and peeked up at him.

He laughed a hearty laugh and commanded that I stand and face him.

“Well, men, it looks like we have a new deckhand.” He said as he slapped my back. Then he put me to work.

I knew my family would have been proud.

– Written for The Angry Hourglass: Flash Frenzy Round 103 Photo Prompt. WC 360
Photo by Ashwin Rao.

The Pirates Pirate

Author: LearaWrites

I am a voice actor, an artist, a photographer, and a writer, not necessarily in that order. I love animals and the ocean. I have an AA in Fine Arts and a BA in Psychology. I am an observer, a storyteller, a dreamer.

Leave a Reply

