Destiny

The night Destiny disappeared, I wanted to believe.

I stood with my toes over the cliff, arms outstretched. The fog made it hard to see though I sensed the distance to the ocean below.

She told me she believed in fairies and that they weren’t what people thought. She wanted me to believe.

The night Destiny disappeared, I wanted to believe.

I closed my eyes as the wind tore at my clothes. I rocked slightly wishing I was brave.

I heard Destiny call. I opened my eyes. She was suspended by waves or fog or will.

She touched my cheek then motioned for me to come.

“You have to believe in fairies. You have to believe in me.”

– Written for Microcosms (12). Prompts were Fairy/Ocean/Mystery. WC 110
‘Destiny’ was named runner-up for this contest.

Author: LearaWrites

I am a voice actor, an artist, a photographer, and a writer, not necessarily in that order. I love animals and the ocean. I have an AA in Fine Arts and a BA in Psychology. I am an observer, a storyteller, a dreamer.

Leave a Reply

