It’s The Thought That Counts

He is twelve now…so grown up but still my baby.

It tasted as bad as it looked.

I forced a smile as I chewed and swallowed a bite while holding my breath. “It is so good!” I lied.

My sweet boy did odd jobs for the past month to save up enough money to buy the ingredients to make a birthday cake.

I took a gulp of milk to wash it down.

Being a single mom is hard. I feel guilty most days for missing out on time with my son in exchange for keeping a roof over his head and his belly full.

I don’t like him being home alone as often as he is but he is a good kid and stays out of trouble. He is smart and has good sense and I hope he truly understands.

He is twelve now…so grown up but still my baby.

After pouring a glass of milk, he put a piece of cake on a plate for himself. I tried to distract him before he could take a bite. “So how about we splurge and walk to the Redbox for a movie,” I said enthusiastically and got up from my chair.

“Sounds good,” he agreed, as he stuffed a large forkful of his creation into his mouth. He chewed slowly and then frowned.

“That’s disgusting!” He whined.

“Noooo, it’s good,” I reassured.

“Mom seriously, Ugh!”

“I hope you know my cake-making ability does not reflect my feelings. I promise I was not trying to poison you!” He said with a chuckle.

I tousled his hair and said, “So how about that movie?”

– Written for The Angry Hourglass: Flash Frenzy Round 100 Photo Prompt. WC 261
Photo by Ashwin Rao.

cake

Author: LearaWrites

I am a voice actor, an artist, a photographer, and a writer, not necessarily in that order. I love animals and the ocean. I have an AA in Fine Arts and a BA in Psychology. I am an observer, a storyteller, a dreamer.

Leave a Reply

