The Guy On The Harley

He is a great big brother, always looking out for me.

He skimmed some chunky milk off of the top of what he poured into his glass and sniffed his finger.

I slid my chair up to the table and put cereal in my bowl.

He made a disgusted face. “Damn,” he said and sighed tossing the whole glass into the sink. “You’re gonna have to eat it dry,” he told me. I frowned.

“You know mom won’t be home for a while, right?” He asked.

I looked up at him and tilted my head to the side. “Again?” I questioned.

“She took off with the guy on the Harley.” He matter-of-factly informed me.

That’s the thing about Beau, he doesn’t sugar-coat anything. He is a great big brother, always looking out for me. I am 8 and he is 15, but he doesn’t make me feel bad and he always tells it like it is.

He is not like mom.

– Written for Ad Hoc Fiction weekly contest. Word Prompt was “skim.” WC 150
Photo from PublicDomainPictures.net.

harley-davidson-fatboy

Author: LearaWrites

I am a voice actor, an artist, a photographer, and a writer, not necessarily in that order. I love animals and the ocean. I have an AA in Fine Arts and a BA in Psychology. I am an observer, a storyteller, a dreamer.

Leave a Reply

