The Reverent Cows

The coffee arrived and my usual, The Bovine’s Udder Delight, was being prepared.

I’ve always enjoyed having Sunday brunch downtown at The Painted Cow, on the corner of Vine and Henderson. The girls there knew me by name and saved my favorite outside table for me every week. I hung my tote from the chair and sat in the shade of the two brightly painted cows that stood guard over me. The coffee arrived and my usual, The Bovine’s Udder Delight, was being prepared. I took out my notebook and began people watching for inspiration.

The innocence of children,
The courage of youth,
The sensibility of adulthood,
The wisdom of age,
Meet at the crossroads for a quick respite.
The painted cows welcome all who wish to rest in their shadows.

I looked up from my writing in time to notice a child smiling and pointing at my reverent guardians. We briefly made eye contact so I smiled back and gave him a quick wave, which he responded to with a giggle and shyly hid his face in his mother’s hair.

The cows continued to observe silently.

– Written for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: 59th Challenge. WC 174
Photo prompt provided by S. Writings.

Cows

Author: LearaWrites

I am a voice actor, an artist, a photographer, and a writer, not necessarily in that order. I love animals and the ocean. I have an AA in Fine Arts and a BA in Psychology. I am an observer, a storyteller, a dreamer.

2 thoughts on “The Reverent Cows”

Leave a Reply

