Who Cares?

They think they hear his voice tonight.

“Who cares!?” She yells, and slams the door.

I care.

“Who cares?” He says, and leaves once more.

I care.

She screams into a pillow. He slams his hand on the steering wheel.

I’m scared.

These days anger is all they seem to feel.

It’s not fair.

Who cares? He thinks as he stares up the stairs and wonders why they fight.

Do they care that he used to cry himself to sleep at night?

They think he’s gone, but he’s still here, even though it’s been a year.

They think they hear his voice tonight.

He heads for the door. She turns on the light.

They meet on the porch to make things right.

“I care,” she cries. “I care,” he replies.

“I care.” They hear, though barely more than a sigh.

– Written for YeahWrite.me Weekly Fiction|Poetry Writing Challenge 262 Question Prompt “Who cares?” WC 133

Author: LearaWrites

I am a voice actor, an artist, a photographer, and a writer, not necessarily in that order. I love animals and the ocean. I have an AA in Fine Arts and a BA in Psychology. I am an observer, a storyteller, a dreamer.

Leave a Reply

