C’est La Vie

The city is awake now, and the tourists will be filing in soon.

Sitting on the café patio, I appreciated the colorful umbrellas keeping me dry on this rainy morning. I lifted some fruit at the market to take home for mother when she wakes. She is ill but strong.

The city is awake now, and the tourists will be filing in soon. An unsuspecting crowd is an easy target and a rainy day is a blessing. Their wallets ride loosely in the pockets of raincoats, tossed in carelessly as an afterthought guided by their grumbling stomachs.

I casually join the crowd bumping into some, quickly slipping my hand into pockets and gathering my bounty. I apologize and mean it sincerely.

eiffel-tower-351492_960_720
– Written for Microcosms 19 weekly contest. Related to National Tourism Day with prompts pickpocket/Paris/drama. WC 108. Photo from Pixabay.com. C’est La Vie was named runner-up in this contest.

Author: LearaWrites

I am a voice actor, an artist, a photographer, and a writer, not necessarily in that order. I love animals and the ocean. I have an AA in Fine Arts and a BA in Psychology. I am an observer, a storyteller, a dreamer.

Leave a Reply

