6B

I thought the elevator was empty until I noticed a girl. “Where’d you come from?” I asked. “You’re the kid from 6B.”

She confirmed.

“You should go downstairs,” She said.

I raised my eyebrows.

The lift came to a convulsive halt.

The fire alarm startled me. “Okay, don’t panic,” I reassured.

I pushed buttons, and the doors creaked open an inch. “I’ll get these open.” I pulled with all my strength.

On the second try, they opened enough that I could slip through. She should go first, I thought, but when I turned around, there was no one there.

I wiggled through. As I cleared the doors, I heard the cable snap and the elevator plummet.

I smelled smoke.

I ran downstairs as firetrucks arrived.

I asked about the girl. The woman from 6B told me that it couldn’t be her granddaughter. She died in a car accident last week.

bricks-fire-escape-fire-ladder-house
– Written for Miniature Writing Challenge #43. Prompt was “When I got stuck in an elevator with a stranger…” WC 150. Photo from Pexels.com.

Author: LearaWrites

I am a voice actor, an artist, a photographer, and a writer, not necessarily in that order. I love animals and the ocean. I have an AA in Fine Arts and a BA in Psychology. I am an observer, a storyteller, a dreamer.

Leave a Reply

