Unexpected

We all stared at each other uncomfortably.

For once dinner won’t be just about eating.

Timing was important. Tommy always ate fast and asked to be excused to his room to play video games. Jenna texted with her boyfriend Michael throughout dinner, and Shauna would have her earbuds in the entire time.

They knew something was up when we collected devices before sitting down at the table.

We all stared at each other uncomfortably. I was surprised when there wasn’t more of a protest over the devices.

I started by spooning some mashed potatoes onto my plate. Everyone followed suit and began making their plates as well.

“So,” I said. “Dad and I have something we need to talk to you about.

Daniel spoke. “Your mother and I…This is harder than I thought. We…”

“We are getting a divorce,” I rushed the words to finish for him. Finally saying it out loud was a relief, but I was quickly flooded with anxiety waiting for them to respond.

“Is that all?” Shauna asked.

“Great, can I have my phone back now?” asked Jenna wryly.

“Tell us something we don’t know.” Tommy blurted out sarcastically.

– Written for YeahWrite.me fiction|poetry #270. Prompt up sentence, “For once dinner won’t be about just eating.” WC 186.

Author: LearaWrites

I am a voice actor, an artist, a photographer, and a writer, not necessarily in that order. I love animals and the ocean. I have an AA in Fine Arts and a BA in Psychology. I am an observer, a storyteller, a dreamer.

9 thoughts on “Unexpected”

  1. It’s the reaction – or non-reaction – of the kids that intrigues me. Is it just that they sensed it was coming, or do they just not care? You might want to go through and see if you could eliminate (rephrase) some of your adverbs (uncomfortably, wryly, sarcastically), but all in all, a really great snapshot of an awkward family moment. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Seems like the kids get smarter with smart phones. Dinner chats around a family table are fast losing its charm with the ‘devices’ taking over. A nice tale reflecting the stark truth.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This really seems to show the role of electronics in children’s lives in society nowadays and the impact it has on relationships with family members. Also amusing how the children could already tell. Great piece!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

