I Stand At The Gate

I am a guide, for the passing, through the veil between our two worlds.

At the gate of Bonaventure Cemetery, Savannah, GA

I do not weep for those whose earthly vessels resting here beneath the soil. I weep with those souls left behind.

I am a guide, for the passing, through the veil between our two worlds.

I stand guard, to offer reassurance to those weakened by loss and to remind them that this temporary abode is but a moment in time.

My shuttered eyes demonstrate to visitors that this is a place of rest and not a place to fear. I represent the peace and stillness their loved ones now possess.

I hold fast to that which exemplifies strength in adversity and reconciliation in death. The cross that I lean upon is the key to unlocking the door to spiritual ascension.

Welcome to all who enter. May you know comfort here.

– Written for dVerse Poetics, prompt was “the voice of the sculpture.” Photo ©2010 Leara Morris-Clark.

Author: LearaWrites

I am a voice actor, an artist, a photographer, and a writer, not necessarily in that order. I love animals and the ocean. I have an AA in Fine Arts and a BA in Psychology. I am an observer, a storyteller, a dreamer.

4 thoughts on “I Stand At The Gate”

  1. “I am a guide, for the passing, through the veil between our two worlds.

    I stand guard, to offer reassurance to those weakened by loss and to remind them that this temporary abode is but a moment in time.”

    These lines are beautiful! So sorry the link was already down but glad you posted at the bar so we can read this. You’ve taken on the voice of the sculpture so well here — and I like that the comfort is given to those left standing above the earthly vessels now buried deep of their loved ones. A wonderful use of the prompt! Thanks so much for participating — it has been amazing to read to posts from others, taking on voices of stone and bronze.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! It was a fun challenge. I recently came across your site and have found some of the prompts interesting. I will still do some of the older ones even if I can’t use Mr. Linky. I don’t mind doing a PingBack and pasting in my url 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

