The Treasure At The End Of The Rainbow

archip_iwanowitsch_kuindshi_009
Rainbow by Arkhip Kuindzhi

After the rain, the sun peeked from behind the clouds creating a rainbow. Now all we had to do was find the end. If the leprechauns didn’t want us to find their gold, why would they put it in a pot at the end of a rainbow colored spotlight?

It was a long walk, but we finally neared the end. Even at a distance, we could see the pot was overflowing with shimmering gold coins.

I began to run and called after my sister to keep up. She always lagged behind.

Finally, I reached the treasure. I dug both hands into the mountain of riches and let them fall all around me. Something didn’t feel right. I picked up one coin to examine it closer.

It wasn’t real gold at all. It was gold foil covering something. I peeled back the wrapper to find a chocolate coin.

“Wake up doofus!” My sister said when she caught up to me. “Wake up!”

I heard a leprechaun’s laughter echoing across the rolling hills. “What the…!?” I sat straight up in bed.

“You are such a doofus! Were you having another stupid dream?”

“Aww man!” I whined. Just a dream and my stupid sister was making fun of me for talking in my sleep.

I suddenly had a craving for chocolate.

– Written for Jane Dougherty Writes, Microfiction Challenge #9: Rainbow. Painting prompt by Arkhip Kuindzhi. Word prompt was “After the storm.” WC 218.

Author: LearaWrites

I am a voice actor, an artist, a photographer, and a writer, not necessarily in that order. I love animals and the ocean. I have an AA in Fine Arts and a BA in Psychology. I am an observer, a storyteller, a dreamer.

11 thoughts on “The Treasure At The End Of The Rainbow”

Leave a Reply

