Grey Nation (Uncertainty)

I cannot see through the grey, through the fog,
Through the uncertainty, that fills the air, my heart.
I hear only muffled chaos and tremble.
I wrap a battered flag around me
And use it to wipe away the tears.
A few tears fall for me, more for others,
For a bloody history bound to repeat.
I cannot see through the grey, through the hate,
Through the lies from all sides, the indifference,
A dirty lens that distorts the view and trivializes the pain.
Battered like my flag, I am bruised and used as a pawn
To fan the flames and distract from their game, to manipulate
The fate of a nation.

howe-sound-greys-porteau-cove-sea-to-sky-highway-british-columbia-canada
Ocean and Island in the Fog. Porteau Cove Howe Sound. Sea to Sky Highway. British Columbia, Canada, 2016.

– Written for Pix To Words Pic And A Word Challenge #63. Word and Photo prompts. Word was “grey.” Photo prompt by Patrick Jennings.

Author: LearaWrites

I am a voice actor, an artist, a photographer, and a writer, not necessarily in that order. I love animals and the ocean. I have an AA in Fine Arts and a BA in Psychology. I am an observer, a storyteller, a dreamer.

7 thoughts on “Grey Nation (Uncertainty)”

  1. Powerful, provocative words, Leara. Thank you!

    Dark times are coming, indeed. And here we are, in the grey of lost light, fearing the worst (as has been promised in so many ways) while seeking, hoping, yearning for some sign of the light. I believe, however, only through tenacious efforts of ‘lightworkers’ — ourselves — can we keep the light from being doused.

    Lovely response to the prompt.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

